

## News Release

## 2018 IOWA FFA EXPERIENCE THE ACTION CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

90th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Experience the Action Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 23, 2018. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the West Liberty FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Zach Morris, Ms. Megan Rauen, and Ms. Michele McMichael. The second place chapter for the event was the North Fayette Valley FFA Chapter at West Union. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Ryan Holthaus and Ms. Rachael Strong.

Team members developed enthusiastic presentations that marketed Agricultural Education and FFA. This program serves to inform and educate the general public regarding the benefits and activities of Ag Ed/FFA programs. The Experience the Action CDE was made possible with support from U.S. Army ROTC through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Experience the Action CDE are listed below.

###

## About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,300 student members as part of 235 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Morgan Peterson, Austin Mcmichael, Kayla Maurer, Karsyn	West Liberty	Gold
	Ruess, Gavin Chown, and Bryson Iske		
2	Cassidy Bohr, Easton Halverson, Grace Kerr, Kyra Mcintyre,	West Union	Gold
	Zach Massman, and Thomas Amundson		
3	Joey Kercheval, Kara Eilander, Carmen Klos, Lauren Klos,	Montezuma	Gold
	Kierstyn Price, and Alexandria Gunderson		

## **Iowa FFA Association -- 2**

4	Joe Westlake, Logan Thompson, Christian Farnsworth, Mara	Indianola	Gold
	Cosenza, Noah Jackson, and Megan Howard		
	Alexis Meek, Holly Hoepner, Julia Kock, Emily Butcher, and	Avoca	Silver
	Kyle Jorgensen		
	Megan Lahmann, Sean Banger, Trystan Lampe, Julia Larue, and Britney Hershey	Fairbank	Silver
	Kaitlyn Lleverino, Kaylyn Kingery, Nicole Arment, Kevin	Grinnell	Silver
	Werner, Preston Sholley, and Hunter Patten	т 1	C'1
	Isaac Knobloch, Chase Ter Wee, Ambria Knobloch, and Talin Knobloch	Inwood	Silver
	Kari Jeffrey, Wesley Johnson, Kyrstin Brunner, and Jenna Paulus	Rockford	Silver
	Carlyee Clark, Megan Carlson, Tyler Mandernach, Madison Belcher, Anna Tiefenthaler, and Gabe Sievers	Newell	Bronze
	Caiden Goodman, Joel Henningsen, Kathryn Messerschmidt, Taten Williams, Skylar Wilson, and Haylee Vlcek	Oakland	Bronze
	Madalyn Dohlman, Hannah Koch, Benjamin Popp, Andrew Thyer, and Karlie Wagner	Osage	Bronze